Transition

Oh Hey, Remember when I started this blog to share my thoughts and feelings about what I believe? Well…I forgot. Not completely. But enough to let myself put it on the back burner for 6 months. A lot has happened in my life the past 6 months. There have been a lot of changes and a lot of moments where I struggled. I struggled enough to not have any desire to write and share. My attitude changed a bit. I moved from Rexburg, ID back to Arizona. Now, you would think that would be the best thing EVER, considering how much I hated the snow. However, it was a pretty hard transition. I tried to tell myself it wasn’t, but I’ve been a little more honest with myself lately. Rexburg was a place like none other I’ve ever experienced. Rexburg was a place where I was CONSTANTLY and consistently spiritually fed. I didn’t even have to try, which actually made me want to try harder. I went to church in a ward with young married couples. Young couples, babies, toddlers, and maybe 1 or 2 primary aged kiddos. This kind of ward does not exist outside of BYU (at least not in AZ). This kind of ward is amazing. My first testimony meeting there was like WHOA, we just hit the jackpot. We just moved to the best place on the PLANET. I made friends immediately, I had more confidence than I’ve ever had, I wasn’t afraid to reach out, I actually loved Visiting Teaching. I even loved Sunday School!! I loved my calling. I loved my calling so much. I loved my Relief Society President and her passion for the Gospel. I loved the way she shared her testimony and said “Can I get an Amen?!” I loved that the spirit was just there. Everywhere. All around me. No matter where I went. I learned so many amazing things in Rexburg that I thought I couldn’t learn anywhere else. I was in love. And then just like that…it was gone. I was moving back to AZ when I thought I would have to endure at least two more winters there. I thought I would get at least 2 amazing summers. And just like that…my spiritual high started slipping away. I thought I would never like a ward again. I thought I would never be constantly surrounded by the spirit. I thought I was doomed.

Fortunately, I have amazing people in my life. I have one friend in particular who puts up with my crazy self and talks me out of my insanity on a regular basis. She talks to me about the Gospel. She talks to me about what matters. She reminds me that my Heavenly Father loves me. She reminded me that sometimes I won’t always be spiritually fed without trying. She reminded me that I might have to seek out the spirit more often and that I might have to be the example to someone else. She told me that maybe somebody in Arizona is like the me in Rexburg who thought I needed everyone else to lift me up. She was so right. Everything that I experienced in Rexburg can be experienced anywhere in the world. Everything I learned, everything I felt, and everything I loved, can happen right here in Arizona. But it certainly can’t happen with the wrong attitude. I’ve been working on it. I’ve been trying to understand the Lord’s plan for me and I’ve been trying to seek out the good in everything. And let me tell you, when you do that, you can find it. You can find the good in absolutely everything. God is good. He loves us. I know that more than I ever have. And I believe that if we can just hold on to that knowledge, the knowledge that our Heavenly Father loves us. We can overcome anything.

I am happy to be here in Arizona. I am in a great ward with great people! With amazing examples. Amazing women. Amazing moms. Amazing people! It doesn’t just exist in Rexburg. The Gospel is good and true no matter where you go. And I know that now.

I challenge all of you to try to find the good in everything and everyone. It’s there. I saw a thing on facebook the other day that said “There isn’t a person you wouldn’t love if you could read their story.” We all have a story. Let’s try harder not to be so quick to judge. Heavenly Father loves ALL of his children. You. And you. And YOU….and ME!

(Not to mention it’s 5 degrees in Rexburg right now…and 59 degrees here. But, that’s totally beside the point!) đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

