The Challenge

A little over a week ago I attended the General Relief Society Meeting for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. Before the broadcast a member of our Stake Presidency spoke to us. He talked about how social media can be used for good and he challenged us to start a blog to share what we believe with the world. I felt like he was talking directly to me and it made me CRAZY…I am NOT a blogger. I am NOT a writer and quite frankly, I don’t feel like I have anything to say that people would want to read. I did not think I would actually do it. However, I do have a testimony and I do believe that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints is true. I haven’t been able to get his challenge out of my mind. I love being a member of the church. I LOVE being a mormon. The peace and happiness it brings me is just too much to even express in words. So why wouldn’t I want to share that with the world? I’ll tell you why…it scares me. I have never been one to go out of my way to talk about the church or my beliefs with others. Not because I am embarrassed or ashamed, but because I don’t want to make people uncomfortable. I don’t want people to think I am forcing my beliefs on them. I don’t want people to think I judge them because I believe differently than them and because I am afraid they will ask me hard questions. Some members of the church can quote scriptures and talks without even thinking, some members know just the right things to say. Some members only know how to talk about their love for the Gospel. But me, not so much. My hands start to sweat and I get nervous that I won’t be able to say what I really feel or that people will just be annoyed because the last thing they want to talk about is church or Jesus Christ. So instead of taking a chance to share something really wonderful…I just don’t. The stupidest thing about that is that I love the gospel. I love Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. I love going to church for 3 hours every Sunday. I love listening to others bear their testimonies. I love going to Relief Society Meetings and being uplifted. I love hearing the Prophet and Apostles speak at conference. I love all of it! I feel so blessed and so grateful to know the things I know and to be a member of such a wonderful church. So I decided to take on the challenge. To share what I believe in a blog and people can choose whether or not they want to listen.

I was trying to come up with a name for my blog and like I said, I am NOT creative. I thought about it for days and came up with nothing. Then last night I was upstairs and my husband was listening to the Priesthood Session downstairs. I don’t know who was speaking and can’t remember much of what he said, but I do remember him saying “Because I have been given much, I too must give.” Those words come from my favorite hymn…and it made me think. The Lord has blessed me with so much. I have been given so much. So I too must give. I want to share my reasons for believing and my reasons for loving the Lord. I don’t want to force my beliefs on you, but I would like to share them with you. I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints and I believe that it’s true.

 

2 thoughts on “The Challenge

  1. Erica says:

    Good for you! I feel like this is something I could have written myself as I feel exactly the same way. I LOVE the gospel! I am not a natural missionary and I get nervous that if someone asks me about the church, I won’t know the answer or I will say the wrong thing. Or, that I will just start to cry when bearing my testimony….it’s happened before. So again, good for you for acting on the inspiration!
    P.S. Found your blog from Breezy’s Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

